About us

list of office-bearers

The Tamil Nadu Dental Council is a statutory body constituted under section 21 of The Dentists Act, 1948 for the purpose of registering the dentists & regulating the profession of dentistry in Tamilnadu.

The dentists registration tribunal was in existence from Feb 1949 to Feb 1951. The Tamil Nadu Dental Council was inaugurated in October 1952. The BDS course was started in August 1953.

Sixteen recognised dental colleges are functioning in Tamil Nadu. A total number of 15,936 dentists have been registered in Tamil Nadu Dental Council as on 31.03.12, out of which 1962 dentists hold MDS qualification. 606 number of Dental Hygienists and 959 number of Dental Mechanics have been registered in this Council as on 31.03.2012.

Eight elected registered dentists, Principals of recognised dental colleges in Tamilnadu, one elected member from Tamil Nadu Medical Council, three TN Govt nominees, Director of Medical & Rural Health Services - all ex-officios - constitute the State Dental Council.

Now the Continuing Dental Education Regulations have been implemented for updating the knowledge of Dentists in Dentistry.